Commission 2 : Education

Dr Kristin Snoddon (Canada)

Présidente de la Commission Education


Kristin Snoddon est professeure adjointe de Linguistique Appliquée et d'Etudes sur les Discours à l’Université Carleton au Canada. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la linguistique appliquée de la langue des signes, et la planification et politique de la langue des signes, en particulier en ce qui concerne le droit à la langue des signes pour les enfants Sourds dans l’éducation.

Sa recherche et son expérience professionnelle incluent le travail collaboratif avec des communautés sourdes dans le développement de la langue des signes et des programmes d'alphabétisation précoce pour les enfants sourds et les parents.

Sa recherche la plus récente s’est concentrée sur le développement de la participation parentale dans le programme de la langue des signes américaine, qui est aligné dans le Cadre européen commun de référence pour les langues. Parmi ses œuvres, notons : American Sign Language and Early Literacy: A Model Parent-Child Program (Gallaudet University Press, 2012); recueil éditée Telling Deaf Lives: Agents of Change(Gallaudet University Press, 2014); et à venir Sign Language Ideologies in Practice (avec Annelies Kusters, Mara Green et Erin Moriarty Harrelson). Ses autres publications ont figuré dans Canadian Journal of Disability Studies, Canadian Modern Language Review, Current Issues in Language Planning, Disability & Society, International Journal of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism, International Journal of Multilingualism, Sign Language Studies, et Writing & Pedagogy.

Retour à la liste des Présidents des Commissions

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. Nous employons des cookies afin d’améliorer votre navigation, générer des statistiques, assurer le suivi des campagnes publicitaires et réseaux sociaux. En savoir plus sur notre politique de confidentialité et de cookies et comment les gérer sur votre navigateur. Vous pouvez à tout instant modifier les paramètres de gestion de ces cookies.

Ok En savoir plus

Commission 2: Deaf Education

Dr Kristin Snoddon (Canada)

International President of the Commission on Deaf Education


Kristin Snoddon is Assistant Professor of Applied Linguistics and Discourse Studies, Carleton University, Canada. Her research interests are in applied sign language linguistics and sign language planning and policy, particularly in regard to deaf children’s sign language rights in education. 

Her research and professional experience includes collaborative work with deaf communities in developing sign language and early literacy programming for deaf children and parents.

Her most recent research has focused on developing a parent ASL curriculum that is aligned with the  Common European Framework of Reference for Languages.

Her books include American Sign Language and Early Literacy: A Model Parent-Child Program (Gallaudet University Press, 2012); the edited collection Telling Deaf Lives: Agents of Change (Gallaudet University Press, 2014); and the forthcoming Sign Language Ideologies in Practice (with Annelies Kusters, Mara Green, and Erin Moriarty Harrelson). Her other publications have appeared in the Canadian Journal of Disability Studies, Canadian Modern Language Review, Current Issues in Language Planning, Disability & Society, International Journal of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism, International Journal of Multilingualism, Sign Language Studies, and Writing & Pedagogy. 

Back to list of International Presidents

By continuing to browse this website, you accept cookies which are used to offer a personalized experience on our website, generate statistics and realize advertising or social network tracking. Find out more about our Privacy & Cookie policy and how to manage them on your browser. You can change your cookie settings at any time.

Ok Read more